About Me


So, who am I? Well I am a Married man, with 2 young children, living in South Bristol, England.  I am 36 years old and work for a company called PBTI based in Wells, PBTI use to specialise in the remanufacture of laser toner cartridges, but have now moved to distribution of cartridges made by another organisation.

On a personal note, out of work I enjoy camping and getting out in the fresh air, but most of my free time is spent looking after the kids, keeping fit and doing DIY on the house and garden. The most important thing to me is my wife and kids. I am a strong believer in working to live not living to work, that said I pride myself in my work ethic.

 

My girls in 2014

My Position at PBTI

At present I am the IT manager at PBTI, I started working for the company in October 2007, and have the responsibility of the day to day running of the IT systems.  During my time with the company have been responsible for :-

  • Database Administration
  • ERP
  • User training
  • SSRS report generation
  • Business process review
  • Project managing the upgrade of Syteline 6.03 to Syteline 8.03.10
  • Implement ion and integration of “Preactor” for Scheduling and MRP
  • Managing a team of up to 3 developers
  • Direct board integration
  • Windows 7 rollout
  • Domain upgrade from Windows 2000 to Windows 2008
  • Exchange server upgrade from 5.5 to 2007

I regularly attend the Syteline User Group and have presented to the group on a few occasions.

Programming Skills

My primary skill base is T-SQL , and you can find plenty of samples of this throughout my blog. In other languages such as VB.NET I can generate functions or routines, and rework existing code but have never built applications from the ground up. My current aspiration is to validate my SQL skills by taking some Microsoft examinations (70-461 to start), then to move towards some structured training on a secondary language.